Twitter spaces rescued an introvert.

Twitter spaces rescued an introvert.

Have you ever been in a situation where your mind is full of ideas but you can't share them just because you don't know how to express yourself in public? Many people faced that a lot and chose to express themselves through writing. I'm one of those people just because I didn't know how I could express myself to people even in private. That was a hectic situation. It took me quite a long time to realize that as a good developer, I should be good at communicating and open-minded.

When I joined tech Twitter, I came across Twitter spaces and got the chance to learn a lot from it. before going deep into my story I want to explain what twitter space is all about.

What twitter space is all about

A twitter space is similar to the app called clubhouse and it's basically a live audio chat room where Twitter users come together to chat, share ideas, and even host events. It is available for both android and IOS users and you can now listen in a space on the web. These twitter spaces are mainly public so anyone can join as a speaker or listener and that includes people who don't follow you.

How I managed to get out of that situation

As an introvert, joining twitter spaces was always scary, facing people you don't know yet, not sure if they will approve of your idea. But, with time I had the courage to join as a listener. I joined several spaces and started listening to others speak with no fear I felt so worthless and wanted to face my fears so badly so I decided to give it some time and learn how it works.

I came across this space hosted by some of my friends on Twitter, they were talking about how they got into tech and I could somehow relate to their stories. Luckily for me, I was brought up as a speaker to share my story and experience so far. I made it clear to them that I'm not good at communicating and that it was my first time speaking in public. To my greatest surprise, many came up saying it was their first time speaking in public and that I'm doing great, I should believe in myself. I felt safe and continued my story. But, I felt nervous and I think it was normal since it was my first time.

With time I started growing, read some articles related to growth, and joined other twitter spaces that are not tech-related. Because of my efforts and the willingness to learn, I was able to boost my communication skills not only as a developer but as a person.

Thanks for reading my article and if you find it helpful please like and kindly drop a comment. Feedback is highly recommended!!